New Zealand Sport

Author: | Posted in Skateboarding news No comments

New Zealand Sport

Team New Zealand have been nominated for group of the year at the Laureus Sports Awards.

The America’s Cup champions combine the French Davis Cup team, Golden State Warriors, Real Madrid, the Mercedes Formula One team along with the New England Patriots.

The All Blacks won the award in 2015 after their Rugby World Cup victory.

“Emirates Team New Zealand are really honoured to be nominated for this award alongside some other notable teams,” CEO Grant Dalton said.

“We know the effort that went into winning the America’s Cup but what we are equally proud of is that the very special group of people that came together in the real basis of the word group. With no group there wouldn’t have been the success”

F1 driver Lewis Hamilton, british space runner Mo Farah, cyclist Chris Froome, tennis stars Rafael Nadal and Roger Federer and Real Madrid celebrity Cristiano Ronaldo have been nominated for Sportsman of the Year.

American track star Allyson Felix , swimmer Katie Ledecky, skiier Mikaela Shiffrin , tennis stars Serena Williams and Garbine Muguruza and also South African runner Caster Semenya will be the women’s finalists.

The awards take place in Monaco.

Sportsman of the Year award
Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis, Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal) soccer, Mo Farah (GB) sports, Chris Froome (GB) cycling, Lewis Hamilton (GB) Formula 1, Rafael Nadal (Spain) tennis.

Sportswoman of the Year award
Garbine Muguruza (Spain) tennis, Caster Semenya (South Africa) sports, Serena Williams (US) tennis, Allyson Felix (US) sports, Katie Ledecky (US) swimming, Mikaela Shiffrin (US) alpine skiing.

Group of town
France’s Davis Cup team (tennis), Golden State Warriors (basketball), Mercedes-AMG Petronas (Formula 1), New England Patriots (American soccer), New Zealand’s America’s Cup group (sailing), Real Madrid (soccer).

Breakthrough of town
Anthony Joshua (GB) boxing, Kylian Mbappe (France) soccer, Jelena Ostapenko (Latvia) tennis, Sergio Garcia (Spain) golf, Giannis Antetokounmpo (Greece) basketball, Caeleb Dressel (US) swimming.

Comeback of the Year
FC Barcelona (Spain) soccer, Roger Federer (Switzerland) tennis, Valentino Rossi (Italy) motorsport, Sally Pearson (Australia) sports, Justin Gatlin (US) sports, Chapecoense (Brazil) soccer.

Sportsperson of the Year with a Disability
Marcel Hug (Switzerland) para sports, Yui Kamiji (Japan) auto tennis, Oksana Pros (US) cross-country skiing, Bibian Mentel-Spee (Netherlands) snowboarding, Jetze Plat (Netherlands) ironman, Markus Rehm (Germany) long jump.

Action Sportsperson of town
Tyler Wright (Australia) surfing, John John Florence (US) surfing, Anna Gasser (Austria) snowboarding, Mark McMorris (Canada) snowboarding, Nyjah Huston (US) skateboarding, Armel Le Cleac’h (France) sailing.

Best Sporting Moment of the Year
The Iowa Hawkeyes along with the ‘Kinnick Wave’ (US) American soccer, Bradley Lowery and his own special bonding with Jermain Defoe (GB) soccer, Kimi Raikkonen and his own six-year-old fan Thomas Danel (Finland) Formula 1, Chapecoense (Brazil) soccer, Billy Monger (GB) motorsport.

Add Your Comment

%d bloggers like this: