The World Cup

Author: | Posted in Skateboarding news No comments

The World Cup

Australian track star Sally Pearson has been nominated for a prestigious Laureus World Sport Award after her emotional gold medal win at the world championships last year.

Pearson is one of two Australians contained in any of the eight classes, together with surfing world champion Tyler Wright also admitted for her next world title last year.

Pearson, nominated for the Comeback of the Year award, completed one of the very notable fightbacks in Australian sport history by winning the 100m hurdles in London.

After asserting Olympic gold at the London Olympics in 2012, Pearson suffered an endless run of accidents over a three-year period that threatened to finish her sporting career.

She also made a triumphant return to win her second name on precisely the identical track in August last year, and stake her claim as the nation’s best-ever monitor athlete alongside Cathy Freeman.

Pearson is now in a hotly contested category which includes Brazilian soccer team Chapecoense after their tragic airplane crash, also Roger Federer’s successful return from a knee injury.

Freeman congratulated Pearson for her nomination.

“For me Sally is one of the bravest athletes on the planet. Overcoming long-term harms is a psychological and physical nightmare for a full-time athlete,” Freeman explained.

“Sally hadn’t competed in a worldwide tournament between 2013 and 2017. Yet she did not eliminate faith. Her reward was that the 100 metres hurdles gold medal from the World Championships in London last August the identical track where she won the 2012 Olympics gold trophy.

“That is course, Sally. Congratulations. You’re my kind of athlete”

Wright increases her next straight nomination in an Action Sportsperson of the Year field which also boasts men’s surfing champion JJ Florence, skateboarder Nyjah Huston and French sailor Armel Le Cleac’h.

Snowboarders Anna Gasser and Mark McMorris have been recognised.

For the Sportswoman of the Year award, Americans Allyson Felix (monitor), Katie Ledecky (swimming), Mikaela Shiffrin (skiing), Serena Williams (tennis) have been in contention, along with Southern African runner Caster Semenya and Spanish tennis celebrity Garbine Muguruza.

The winners will be announced on February 27 in Monaco.

Add Your Comment

%d bloggers like this: