Author: | Posted in Skateboarding news No comments

Wright’s astonishing world title win having a brace on her knee Hawaii in December has seen her become one of only two Australians to produce the shortlist cut to the annual awards.

It is also the 2nd straight nomination for Wright who gets compliments from seven-time world champion Layne Beachley.

“I have as much respect for her,” said Beachley, winner of the 2004 Action Sportsperson of the Year.

World champion surfer Tyler Wright with her trophy.
World champion surfer Tyler Wright together with her trophy.

“In 2016 she showed tremendous maturity and tenacity to claim her maiden world title despite the worries of assisting her brother recover from head injuries after a surfing accident in Hawaii.

“2017 saw her defeat a severe knee injury which had the capability to end her season and name effort. That’therefore determination you expect in the Aussie. ”

Showing similar determination was Pearson who conquered a string of accidents to return to the top of her match at the world championships in 2017.

Pearson is in the Comeback of the Year group which also comprises the Brazilian football team Chapecoense back in action following the tragic plane crash, Roger Federer, FC Barcelona, Justin Gatlin and MotoGP racer Valentino Rossi.

Sally Pearson after winning the 100m hurdles in London.
Sally Pearson after winning the 100m hurdles in London.

Wright is famous for the World Action Award with men’s surfing world champion John John Florence, skateboarder Nyjah Huston, French sailor Armel Le Cléac’h and snowboarders Anna Gasser and Mark McMorris.

The winners will be named in February at a gala function in Monaco.

Americans Allyson Felix (track), Katie Ledecky (swimming), Mikaela Shiffrin (ski) and Serena Williams (tennis) have been accountable for the Sportswoman of the Year award with South African runner Caster Semenya and Spanish tennis pro Garbine Muguruza.

Add Your Comment

%d bloggers like this: